What are The Eight Basic Consumer Rights?

What Are Consumer Rights?

Consumer rights are the rights that individuals have and the laws that producers must follow to keep consumers safe. The Consumer Rights Act, also known as the Consumer Bill of Rights, were presented by the 35th president of the United States, John F. Kennedy, during a speech in March 1962. Originally, the Consumer Bill of Rights were four basic rights consumers had. Later laws expanded upon these basic rights and added four more rights.

What is the Consumer Rights Act?

Man point

The Consumer Rights Act was created on March 26, 2015. This act contains three parts:

  • The consumer contracts for goods (digital and services)
  • Unfair terms
  • Miscellaneous terms and conditions

The consumer contracts for goods and services state that goods much be of satisfactory quality and must be as described by the producer. The provided goods must also fit the consumer’s purpose. Before the Consumer Rights Act, consumers did not have ample time to reject defective goods. This act gives consumers more than 30 days to reject goods that do not meet specific criteria. The same rules apply to digital content. The services part of the consumer contracts section states all services need to be performed promptly with reasonable skill and care.

Unfair terms of the Consumer Rights Act refers to the previously stated terms of the Unfair Contract Terms Act of 1977. The unfair terms section of this act contains a gray list that discusses the specific actions traders can take and prices they can set once a consumer is bound.

The miscellaneous terms and conditions of the Consumer Rights Act cover secondary ticketing, competition law and the duty of agents to publicize their fees.

What Are the 8 Basic Consumer Rights?

The eight basic consumer rights are the right to:

1. Basic Needs

The basic needs are everything individuals need to survive, such as food, healthcare, and shelter. Other basic needs include education and sanitation.

2. Safety

When it comes to safety, consumers should be protected against goods and services on the market that is hazardous to leading a healthy life.

3. Information

Consumers have the right to information, which means they have a right to know about the things they come into contact with daily, such as food and similar items. Consumers should be protected against false and dishonest advertising and labeling of products.

4. Choice

Individuals have the right to choose from a variety of products and services at competitive prices without the products varying in satisfactory quality.

5. Representation

People have the right to express their concerns and interests regarding the execution of government properties.

6. Redress

Consumers have the right to be compensated for unsatisfactory services or goods they received and misrepresentation.

7. Consumer Education

Everyone has the right to be an informed consumer, which means everyone has the right to acquire an education and the proper skills needed to be an informed consumer.

8. Healthy Environment

Individuals have a right to reside and work in an environment that is healthy. A dangerous environment is considered a threat to a consumer’s well-being.

Any consumer who feels their consumer rights have been infringed upon should contact the Lawyer Referral Service of Central Texas. We ensure you can get help from the right lawyer for your case, and all our lawyers are carefully vetted. Get the compensation you need today.

Request a Referral


Lawyer Referral Service of Central Texas
https://austinlrs.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/06/Logo-2.png 1016 La Posada Dr, Ste 210
Austin, TX 78752 US

(512) 472-8303


Need a lawyer outside of our area?    Click here

Copyright © 2017 Lawyer Referral Service of Central Texas, Inc.  Disclaimer